DEC appoints new chair with TV background


The Disasters Emergency Committee has today appointed former ITV executive Clive Jones CBE to chair its board of trustees.
Clive Jones has taken up the post with immediate effect following DEC board approval today of the outcome of a competitive public recruitment process.  He replaces former Ogilvy UK Group chairman Mike Walsh, who had chaired the DEC board since 2005.
Mr Jones is also chair of the Runnymede Trust and is a former chair of GMTV.  He was awarded a CBE in 2007 for services to broadcasting.
The Disasters Emergencies Committee brings together the leading UK aid agencies to raise money in times of humanitarian crisis in poorer countries.  It does this through a unique partnership with broadcasters including the BBC, ITN, ITV, Sky and Channel 4 as well support from organisations including BT, Royal Mail, the Post Office and the British Bankers Association.
The DEC’s new chairman Clive Jones said:
“I am joining the DEC following the extraordinary success of its two most recent appeals for Haiti and Pakistan.  I want ensure that DEC continues to fundraise very effectively by building our presence online as well as strengthening our ties with traditional media.  
“We must also continue to support our members to make continuous improvements in their work by learning from every disaster response.  We must stay ahead of the increasing expectations for transparency.  We will continue to make more information available as a matter of course and ensure we are always ready to engage positively with those who question, or indeed challenge, the way we work.”
DEC membership and nominations sub-committee chair Victoria Hardman said:  
“We have been hugely impressed by Clive. He is a proven leader and his media experience which will be invaluable on the board.”
 “The DEC is very grateful to Mike Walsh who has been an extremely effective chairman and leaves us in a strong position to face the undoubted challenges before us.”
The full DEC board is made up of the chief executives of our 13 member agencies plus six independent members:
Clive Jones  -  Chairman 
Adrian  Martin  -  Independent Treasurer
Dr. Sheila Adam  -  Independent
John Willis  -  Independent
Victoria Hardman  -  Independent
Ann Grant   -  Independent
Judy Beard   -  Independent (co-opted)
Richard Miller  -  ActionAid
Tom Wright  -  Age UK
Sir Nicholas Young  -  British Red Cross
Chris Bain  -  CAFOD
Geoffrey Dennis  -  Care International UK
Loretta Minghella  -  Christian Aid
Rose Caldwell  -  Concern Worldwide
Saleh Saeed  -  Islamic Relief
Carolyn Miller  -  Merlin
Barbara Stocking  -  Oxfam
Justin Forsyth  -  Save the Children
Matthew Frost  -  Tearfund
Justin Byworth  -  World Vision