The Board, made up of both Member Trustees (chief executives of the Member Agencies) and Independent Trustees, has ultimate responsibility for directing the affairs of the charity; defining its strategic goals; ensuring that it is solvent; well-run; and delivering the charitable outcomes for which it has been set up.

Trustees ensure that the DEC remains true to its charitable purpose and objectives and complies with charity law. They are responsible for preparing the annual Trustees’ Report and the financial statement, which are submitted to the Charity Commission.

Read our trustee biographies here.


Sue Inglish, Chair of Trustees, Independent Trustee

Jean-Michel Grand, Executive Director – Action Against Hunger UK
Girish Menon, Chief Executive – ActionAid UK
Chris Roles, Chief Executive – Age International
Mike Adamson, Chief Executive – British Red Cross
Christine Allen, Director – CAFOD
Laurie Lee, Chief Executive – CARE International UK
Amanda Mukwashi, Chief Executive – Christian Aid
Danny Harvey, Executive Director – Concern Worldwide UK
Naser Haghamed, Chief Executive – Islamic Relief Worldwide 
Dr Danny Sriskandarajah, Chief Executive – Oxfam GB
Rose Caldwell, Chief Executive – Plan UK
Kevin Watkins, Chief Executive – Save the Children
Nigel Harris, Chief Executive – Tearfund
Tim Pilkington, Chief Executive – World Vision UK

Andy Green, Vice Chair, Independent Trustee

Jane Hanson, Honorary Treasurer, Independent Trustee

Baroness Helene Hayman, Independent Trustee

Charles Stewart-Smith, Independent Trustee
Richard Tait, CBE, Independent Trustee


Membership and Accountability Committee – Responsible for developing accountability policy and monitoring member agencies and secretariat performance against it, and overseeing secretariat activity to promote learning and accountability. The committee is also responsible for ensuring our membership criteria are appropriate; making decisions on action with non-performing members and recruitment of independent trustees.
Committee chair: Andy Green
Current members: Chris Bain, Tanya Barron, Jean-Michel Grand, Jane Hanson, Baroness Helene Hayman, Sue Inglish, Chris Roles, Charles Stewart-Smith, Richard Tait, Kevin Watkins.
Audit, Finance and Risk Committee – Responsible for reviewing draft financial statements and considering the external auditor’s management letter.  The committee is also responsible for advising trustees on the appointment of external auditors; reviewing external audit plans; reviewing the effectiveness of the internal control and risk management systems and monitoring the implementation of audit recommendations.
Committee chair: Jane Hanson
Current members: Mike Adamson, Rose Caldwell, Andy Green, Laurie Lee, Amanda Mukwashi, Tim Pilkington.

Remuneration Committee – Responsible for reviewing DEC Secretariat remuneration policy and practice on an annual basis for recommendation to the full Board.
Committee chair: Sue Inglish
Current members: Rose Caldwell, Andy Green, Jane Hanson, Chris Roles.